New Space Station Crew Launches; In-Orbit News Conference Set

Click here for more news / Clique aqui para mais notícias

HOUSTON -- The next residents of the International Space Station
launched into orbit aboard a Soyuz spacecraft Wednesday from the
Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. NASA astronaut Jeff Williams,
Russian cosmonaut Max Suraev and spaceflight participant Guy
Laliberte lifted off at 2:14 a.m. CDT.

Future Expedition 22 Commander Williams, Soyuz Commander Suraev and
Laliberte are scheduled to dock with the station at 3:37 a.m.,
Friday, Oct. 2. They will spend nine days as members of a joint crew
that includes Expedition 20 Commander Gennady Padalka, NASA's Mike
Barratt and Nicole Stott, the European Space Agency's Frank De Winne,
Russian cosmonaut Roman Romanenko and the Canadian Space Agency's Bob

The nine spacefarers will answer questions from reporters during a
news conference from the complex at 9:10 a.m. Oct. 6. The 30-minute
news conference will be divided for U.S. journalists at NASA centers,
Canadian media representatives at the Canadian Space Agency's
headquarters in Quebec and European reporters. It will be broadcast
live on NASA Television. For NASA TV streaming video, schedule and
downlink information, visit:


On Oct. 10, Padalka will transfer command of the station to De Winne,
who will become commander of the next station mission, designated
Expedition 21. Padalka, Barratt and Laliberte will land in Kazakhstan
at about 11:29 p.m. Padalka and Barratt have been aboard the orbiting
laboratory since March 2009.

Laliberte, a Canadian citizen and the founder of Cirque du Soleil, is
flying to the station under an agreement between the Russian Federal
Space Agency and Space Adventures, Ltd. He will spend nine days
aboard the orbiting laboratory.

For more information about the space station, visit:


◄ Share this news!

Bookmark and Share


The Manhattan Reporter

Recently Added

Recently Commented